MSD Tech Support Forums

Go Back   MSD Tech Support Forums > MSD Ignition Forums > Installation Questions

Installation Questions Wiring and Tech Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-02-2012, 11:11 AM
pontiacgp
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default spark plug gap with 6a

I have a SBC 355 with vortec heads. I have the delco cheap plugs that I gapped at 40 and Ultra 40 shielded wires. I installed the 6a along with an 85551 and didn't touch the plugs. Last nite I had one plug fail on me but after changing it the car ran great. Today I had another one fail. I check for dead cylinders with a thermal gun on the header tubes. It ran almost good for about 10 minutes but it runs like junk now and the symptoms point to the plugs again. Does the gap I have kill the plugs with the 6a? I picked up some NGK's V power today and what gap should I be setting them at? I'm under 10-1 compression and am running a ZZ4 roller cam if that matters.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-03-2012, 06:11 AM
pontiacgp
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Instead of wasting time to post on here and not get any reply from the tech I should used that time to figure out the problem. I would have solved the problem sooner
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-04-2012, 02:13 PM
Brit01 Brit01 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 75
Default

What was the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-2012, 07:58 AM
msdtech1955's Avatar
msdtech1955 msdtech1955 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,831
Default

sir, you have to relize, we dont live on forums......we get anywhere from 700 to 1200 calls a day..ranging from opur product ..to answering or competitors problems....

Quote:
I have a SBC 355 with vortec heads. I have the delco cheap plugs that I gapped at 40 and Ultra 40 shielded wires. I installed the 6a along with an 85551 and didn't touch the plugs. Last nite I had one plug fail on me but after changing it the car ran great. Today I had another one fail. I check for dead cylinders with a thermal gun on the header tubes. It ran almost good for about 10 minutes but it runs like junk now and the symptoms point to the plugs again. Does the gap I have kill the plugs with the 6a? I picked up some NGK's V power today and what gap should I be setting them at? I'm under 10-1 compression and am running a ZZ4 roller cam if that matters
post some pics of the plugs/....( but that little of a gap..would not "kill" the plugs)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2011 MSD Performance