MSD Tech Support Forums

Go Back   MSD Tech Support Forums > MSD Ignition Forums > Installation Questions

Installation Questions Wiring and Tech Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #11  
Old 07-28-2012, 07:41 AM
33Coupe 33Coupe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Default Low Tach Reading

OK. Here is what is inside.
I have two free red leads. The blue lead is still in an intact loop.

Can you describe again how to connect these? Do I connect all the read and blue together? I don't understand your 'green' wire comment - I don't see any likely green wires.

Should I strip the blue wire and connect both red leads to the blue - all in one connection? Is that what you mean?

Thanks

Last edited by 33Coupe; 07-30-2012 at 12:17 PM. Reason: added question
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-28-2012, 07:45 AM
33Coupe 33Coupe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Default Low Tach Reading

picture attached
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2012-07-28_09-30-42_822.jpg (1.37 MB, 11 views)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-31-2012, 08:28 AM
msdtech27's Avatar
msdtech27 msdtech27 is offline
Certified MSD Tech
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 33Coupe View Post
OK. Here is what is inside.
I have two free red leads. The blue lead is still in an intact loop.

Can you describe again how to connect these? Do I connect all the read and blue together? I don't understand your 'green' wire comment - I don't see any likely green wires.

Should I strip the blue wire and connect both red leads to the blue - all in one connection? Is that what you mean?

Thanks
all you need to do is connect the 2 red ends together and the 2 blue ends together, they DO NOT hook up to each other; red to red, blue to blue.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-08-2012, 01:29 PM
33Coupe 33Coupe is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 9
Default low tach reading

Reconnecting the red loop did not fix the low tach reading. Apparently there is some other issue. I ordered a new 6AL digital box. Hopefully, this will cure the problem.

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-05-2012, 02:19 PM
slwryde slwryde is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 13
Default correct rpm

I have been reading your thread as I have an issue like yours.
My tach is not 2000 rpm off but it is reading 500rpm low. Did you ever
find the real problem or just end up buying the new digital 6?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-13-2012, 02:43 PM
79TA 79TA is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Default

I'm having the same problem on my 455 Pontiac. Hits rev limiter at 3500 with a 5000 plug in it. I pulled the side cover and I see one red loop the is cut and a blue loop that is connected. Should I connect the red loop?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-13-2012, 02:59 PM
79TA 79TA is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Well I connected the red loop and it works great. The tach hits 4900-5100 for the rev limiter. That's close enough for me. I guess I answered my question. Just had to connect the red wires back together. I guess someone had it on a V6. When I got it it was hooked up to a 318. But maybe that's why he sold it cause it wasn't working right....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2011 MSD Performance