MSD Tech Support Forums

Go Back   MSD Tech Support Forums > MSD Pro Mag Forum > MSD Pro Mag Tech Section

MSD Pro Mag Tech Section Pro Mag related tech questions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-16-2012, 07:34 AM
aj481x aj481x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 30
Default 44 phase

Does the mag internal trigger fire exactly as the rotor is centered with the terminal in the cap? Is this it's point of highest output?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-16-2012, 03:42 PM
msdtech1955's Avatar
msdtech1955 msdtech1955 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,915
Default

on the leading edge of the terminal .

check out msdvideos.com to see it .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-16-2012, 04:35 PM
aj481x aj481x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 30
Default

Is this the point of highest amperage output?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-17-2012, 08:17 AM
msdtech1955's Avatar
msdtech1955 msdtech1955 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,915
Default

trick question ....depends on if your using a generator or crank trigger.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2012, 02:57 PM
aj481x aj481x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 30
Default

No tricks, trying to decide where to time on mag in order to maximize output on crank trigger. Example, mag timed at 26, trigger at 23, would this be the max output? We observed on the dyno a significant change in HP with crank trigger unchanged but with changes in mag position.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-18-2012, 03:03 PM
msdtech1955's Avatar
msdtech1955 msdtech1955 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,915
Default

because you changed rotor phasing at that point...but why are you running two different timings. ( 23 and 26)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-18-2012, 03:31 PM
aj481x aj481x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 30
Default

Just an example, but timing does change 2 - 3 degrees as the car goes down the track. If crank trigger is 24 and timing retards 2 degrees, mag should be set at 24 ??
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-24-2012, 08:54 AM
msdtech1955's Avatar
msdtech1955 msdtech1955 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,915
Default

that two degree change is not that big to worry about, but ..if it was 15 to 20.. then rotor phasing would place a key roll in that .
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-26-2012, 07:15 AM
aj481x aj481x is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 30
Default

Thanks, then other than a gap created by rotor phasing there is no change in output regardless of internal positioning of generator components.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2011 MSD Performance