MSD Tech Support Forums

Go Back   MSD Tech Support Forums > MSD Ignition Forums > Installation Questions

Installation Questions Wiring and Tech Information

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-07-2010, 07:00 PM
nitrolx's Avatar
nitrolx nitrolx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Posts: 14
Default Accell Dual Point Dissy - MSD 6AL

Hi,
I recently purchased a race car that runs a BBC fitted with an Accell dual point dissy, triggering an MSD 6AL ignition box. My question is how are the dual points supposed to be connected?

Currently the output from both sets of points are commoned up, and then connected to the white points trigger wire on the 6AL.

Engine seems to run fine but I'm just curious as to whether commoning up both sets of points is the recommended approach, or only using one set is better?? I've never run a points dissy before, always either an electronic or a crank trigger.

Thanks,
Ryan.

Last edited by nitrolx; 10-07-2010 at 08:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-08-2010, 02:27 PM
msdtechsupport3's Avatar
msdtechsupport3 msdtechsupport3 is offline
Tech Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 3,300
Default

The White wire of the MSD box only needs to be connected to the primary points. It would be best to remove (disconnect) the secondary points and the condenser for each.
__________________
MSD Tech Support
915-855-7123
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-08-2010, 04:24 PM
nitrolx's Avatar
nitrolx nitrolx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Newcastle, NSW, Australia
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by msdtechsupport3 View Post
The White wire of the MSD box only needs to be connected to the primary points. It would be best to remove (disconnect) the secondary points and the condenser for each.
Thanks for that.
How do I know which set are the primary and which are the secondary?
Does the primary set open first?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2010, 10:16 AM
msdtechsupport3's Avatar
msdtechsupport3 msdtechsupport3 is offline
Tech Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 3,300
Default

Yes generally the primary points are the ones that open first.
__________________
MSD Tech Support
915-855-7123
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-12-2010, 05:03 PM
bill jones bill jones is offline
momentary specialist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SLC Utah
Posts: 411
Default

-I wonder about the advise to use the white wire on the primary points---but it's been a long while since I ever used a dual point to trigger an MSD---so I could be remembering wrong here.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
-if the 1st set of points open and the 2nd set is still closed in normal use---the ignition doesn't fire until the 2nd set of points open.

-It is my experience that triggering off the 1st set of points and not using the 2nd set---will cause the ignition to fire something like 12 to 24 degrees early---and cause rotor index issues.

-I feel to do it right the trailing set of points---the set that opens last is the correct set to trigger the ignition.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
-Regardless---the rotor index should be checked and verified with whichever set of points you intend to use.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
-as far as I know there should NOT be any condenser connected to which ever set of points you end up using.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
-might not be a bad idea to change the dwell setting to a lesser point open gap setting---might make it easier to control point bounce at high rpm (anything above 7000).
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-21-2010, 09:10 AM
msdtech27's Avatar
msdtech27 msdtech27 is offline
Certified MSD Tech
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 626
Default

your over thinking it, the msd box does not need any dwell so it really doesnt matter which points you use, all the white wire is looking for is a ground through the points. If you want to check your rotor phasing you can just drill a hole behind one of the terminals shine your timing light into the hole. you will then be able to see the position of the rotor in correlation to the terminal.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2011 MSD Performance