MSD Tech Support Forums

Go Back   MSD Tech Support Forums > MSD Ignition Forums > Trouble-Shooting

Trouble-Shooting Diagnose your ignition

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 11-06-2007, 07:05 PM
xral xral is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Default Rusty distributor

Has anyone encountered rust on their MSD distributor? I pulled the cap off of mine and there's a lot of rust and corrosion. MSD has said this can be caused when a engine is started and left to idle a few minutes then shut off, letting condensation build. This is not the case with my car. Even though it's only driven about 2,000 miles per year, it's always at least 20 miles, letting the engine warm up and stay at operating temperature. I recently did a minor tune up on my Suburban which is typically driven five or six miles one way then shut off and the distributor looked fine. Any input would be helpful. I've never seen anything like this.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2007, 10:19 AM
msdtechsupport3's Avatar
msdtechsupport3 msdtechsupport3 is offline
Tech Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 3,300
Default

Keep in mind when using a CD ignition that the energy passing through the distributor cap is greatly amplified. As the energy arcs from the rotor tip to the distributor cap it ionizes the air within the cap. If the air under the cap does not vent out sufficiently then the ionized air will oxidize the metals, combined with moisture in the air the oxidation process is accelerated.

You should be able to clean up the oxidation with emery cloth or scotch brite. You can apply a lite coat of dielectric grease to the metal surfaces to minimize the oxidation.
__________________
MSD Tech Support
915-855-7123
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-07-2007, 12:52 PM
xral xral is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Default Rusty distributor

Thanks for the reply. After I posted my initial question, I did a search on "rust" and was surprised with the number of hits regarding rusty distributors. If the MSDs are more susceptible to ionization due to their higher energy output, why arenít vent holes drilled in the distributor and/or caps at the factory? It seems like this might be a reasonable preventative measure that could mitigate the rust problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-07-2007, 03:13 PM
msdtechsupport3's Avatar
msdtechsupport3 msdtechsupport3 is offline
Tech Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 3,300
Default

We do offer a points style cap for the GM distributors that has those vents predrilled into it. However, this is not required for all installations. In fact on vehicles that are driven frequently in wet weather this can cause more problems by allowing more moisture in the cap.
__________________
MSD Tech Support
915-855-7123
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-07-2007, 05:49 PM
xral xral is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4
Default

OK. Works for me. Last question, for now; is it OK to run without a rev limiter in the 6AL box?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-08-2007, 08:25 AM
msdtechsupport3's Avatar
msdtechsupport3 msdtechsupport3 is offline
Tech Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 3,300
Default

Yes, you can run the 6AL without the revlimiter chip plugged in. There will be no harm caused to the unit by doing this.
__________________
MSD Tech Support
915-855-7123
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©2011 MSD Performance