MSD Tech Support Forums

Go Back   MSD Tech Support Forums > MSD Ignition Forums > Trouble-Shooting

Trouble-Shooting Diagnose your ignition

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 07-13-2012, 11:01 PM
BFP's Avatar
BFP BFP is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 22
Default Starter saver

Just installed a starter saver(8984) and using it on a 7al2 box, crank trigger, and stock distributor(Ford) and now the timing at Idle(1500 rpms) is bouncing all over the place, which it didnt do before installing the starter saver, so setting the timing at idle is rough...lol. The Yellow wire that connects to the MSD is connected to the points connection on the msd box, should it be connected some where else also. any help is appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-16-2012, 07:59 AM
msdtech1955's Avatar
msdtech1955 msdtech1955 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,710
Default

did we recheck the timing and rotor phasing ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-19-2012, 06:46 PM
BFP's Avatar
BFP BFP is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 22
Default

Couldnt check the timing it was bouncing all over the place... I found the problem and seems to be working just fine now.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-20-2012, 07:09 AM
msdtech1955's Avatar
msdtech1955 msdtech1955 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,710
Default

what was it ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-24-2012, 11:27 PM
BFP's Avatar
BFP BFP is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 22
Default

Hooked the ground wire directly to battery, instead of using chassis ground.


sorry i forgot to post what i did to fix it just remembered.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-25-2012, 03:31 AM
Gaz64 Gaz64 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 453
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BFP View Post
Hooked the ground wire directly to battery, instead of using chassis ground.


sorry i forgot to post what i did to fix it just remembered.
And what difference does that make?

Ideally ALL grounds should go directly to the negative terminal.
__________________
Regards

Gary
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-25-2012, 07:27 AM
msdtech1955's Avatar
msdtech1955 msdtech1955 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 8,710
Default

http://www.msdignition.com/forum/showthread.php?t=18543


a pic of the inside of the cap would help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
2011 MSD Performance