PDA

View Full Version : msd boost launch controller


Newt-Rod
07-04-2006, 07:04 AM
Anyone use one? If so how do you like it? Will it work with my 7531 box? I am looking for something to control my twin turbo setup. How hard are they to program? do you put set them up in timed increments to up the boost?

thanks

mrbadass
07-05-2006, 10:59 AM
The link (http://www.msdignition.com/tc_26.htm)

Check out the engineering notes...

Newt-Rod
07-10-2006, 04:50 PM
I read that, but wanted real info. From someone that has used it. How well will it work with a carb car?

msdtech21
07-12-2006, 11:59 AM
Hope we answered your question as best we could.

Newt-Rod
08-17-2006, 08:29 AM
for this boost controller do you have to have electric wastegates?

msdtech4
08-31-2006, 09:16 AM
Newt-Rod,

No it works with your standard waste gate. you will plumb it according to one of the diagrams in the help section of the programming software. The most controllable way of plumbing it is using CO2 to the top and bottom of the waste gate using two regulators to set the operating pressure of the waste gate.

Thanks,

MSD tech4

Olee Poole
09-05-2006, 11:57 AM
A buddy of mine has this on his car works greats. But what do you do when your over 30lbs. of boost? We got a 75lbs sensor for fast but does work correctly we need a sensor that starts out with 14.? Thanks for any help.

msdtech4
09-06-2006, 07:21 AM
Olee Poole,

The unit is adjustable from 1, 2, 3 bar or 75psia or 75psig. This is done in the data tree under sensor.

Thanks,

MSD tech4

Olee Poole
09-06-2006, 09:49 PM
I did change the setting but still didn't work rigth. Has been a few weeks ago but i think the problem was the 3 bar map starts out at 14.2 with motor off and the sensor we got from FAST was reading 5-6lbs?? with motor off. I have heard 5 bar map sensor what we have is a pressure transducer Do you know if the fast sensor will work with this? Thanks Olee

Olee Poole
09-12-2006, 06:53 AM
Any ideas? What is the diff. with the 2 75psi sensors? Thanks Olee

Olee Poole
09-25-2006, 09:42 PM
Anyone????

msdtech4
09-26-2006, 08:34 AM
Olee Poole,

The unit is reading absolute pressure not guage pressure. When you turn the ignition on and it reads 14.2 that is your zero point. Anything above that point is boost and anything below that point is vacuum. This unit does not "zero" out so when you are plotting the boost curve your starting point is 14.2 and anything above that again will be boost. This boost controller software can be changed to guage pressure in the software under sensor which will zero out the graph on the screen.

Thanks,

MSD tech4