PDA

View Full Version : Hard start when hot with new dist

mag rag
08-18-2003, 11:58 AM
I have been running the following for quite a few years -single point dist. 6al box and blaster 2 coil. This summer I installed a MSD 8361 dist and when the engine was hot it would be very hard to restart not knowing exactly what the problem was I reinstalled the points dist and everything was back to normal (easy hot starts) No ballast resistor has every been installed.
Any suggestions?? Thanks Garry

msdtech1
08-18-2003, 10:27 PM
What is your initial timing set at and which bushing and springs are you running in the MSD Distributor? Also, do you know what the original timing curve was from your points distributor? You may want to check the timing with the points distributor installed while the engine is being started and then do the same with the MSD Distributor. Compare the two numbers to see if they are the same.

MSD Tech1

mag rag
08-19-2003, 06:58 AM
When I mean hard start I mean that the engine will crank o.k. but will not fire. Leaving the hood open for a few minutes and it will fire up. One time I stalled it and it would not fire up until I opened the hood and in five minutes fired. Checked for gas and that was not a prob. Water temp was at 185 so excessive heat was ruled out. I had a similar problem about 6 years ago when I installed an Accel pointless dist Same no start when hot but with that dist it was a 30 to 60 minute cool down before restart. So I decided that this year was time for an up grade with all MSD parts and now I still can't use my new dist.Once again with old dist starting cold or hot is instant
Please help Have a $200 dist on workbench and $50 p.o.s. in car that works. Thanks

mag rag
08-19-2003, 07:03 AM
Sorry I didn't answer your questions. Timing was set as close as possible to the points dist. 18 initial andabout 14 centrifugal also tried vac hooked and also plugged.But the engine never cranked hard just no fire when hot.

msdtech2