PDA

View Full Version : Multi Stage Retard


Dangerous
08-06-2003, 02:30 PM
My friend gave me his multi stage retard box I was wondering how to hook it up.

I have a MSD 6AL Box in my car What wires on the RETARD BOX go with What wires on the 6 AL

Basically HOW DO I HOOK THIS UP ON MY CAR (91 Mustang 5.0)

Thank you
Greg "Dangerous"

msdtech1
08-06-2003, 06:56 PM
If you already have the MSD 6AL connected then here is the Multi-Step Retard PN 8972 Wiring.

Black - To ground
Red - To Switched 12 volts (Ignition on/off)
Yellow - To white wire on MSD 6AL
Violet - To Starter Solenoid Switched 12 volt wire

White - To Points or amplifier trigger wire
Violet/Green - To Distributor Mag (+) and Mag (-)
Note: You will only use either the White Wire or the Violet/Green Wire. Never both

Brown - First retard stage activation wire
Orange - Second retard stage activation wire
Gray - Third retard stage activation wire

MSD Tech 1

nmraracing
08-10-2003, 05:19 PM
[B]I have a question about the 8972 multi step retard (no offence) I have a 5.0 in a 71 maverick and it has a msd billit dist. and a 6al box nothing else no 2 or 3 steps to worry about. I just bought this 8972 off of ebay and came here to get the wiring instructions and It was very helpfull. BUt I have one question What about the wires in the 8972 that look like the distributor plugs into arent these used??????? I would think that this magnetic pick up wire would be the most acurate way to retard the timing. OOOOOPS one more question my 5.0 10.2 to 1 compression and a cam on a 108 lobe center witha .050 duration of 248- / 256 likes 38 degreese of total timing how much should I back out total while using a NOS big shot single stage 175-200hp kit.???????

msdtech2
08-12-2003, 05:57 PM
Yes, when using and MSD Distributor you will plug the wire from the 8972 to the distributor, the wire that is not going to be used is the white wire of the 8972. The yellow of the 8972 connects to the white of the 6A Unit. You will have to contact the nitrous company for the amount of retard require for your application.
Thanks,
msdtech2