PDA

View Full Version : Bypass Wiring


56chev210
07-28-2003, 03:47 PM
I plan to install a Digital 6+ box with my Ready-to-run billet distribtor for a Chevy. I was told to wire in a by-pass in case my box blew a transistor or something like that. Is there a way to do that? Thanks.

msdtech2
07-28-2003, 04:37 PM
Yes there is a way to install a bypass, you will need to modify the harness from the Digital 6 Plus and install a 4 Pin connector (male and female). The 4 main wires that you will be using are the small red, white, orange and black. When installing the connector you will be jumping the small red and orange together and white and black. This will allow you to run on the distributor only.
Thanks,
msdtech2

56chev210
07-28-2003, 05:44 PM
http://www.digitalpose.com/mbr/1/23998/p/410258_8649887992014485790_vl.jpgHere's a wiring diagram of what I think you mean. It looks like the simplest I've seen for a bypass. Thanks.

msdtech1
07-29-2003, 08:19 AM
Your diagram is correct and should do the trick for bypassing the unit.

MSD Tech1

56chev210
07-29-2003, 11:04 PM
I was also wondering if I can use a kill switch like on the analog 6 series by grounding the violet wire. There is no mention of this in the Digital 6 manual so I was just wondering. Thanks.

msdtech1
07-30-2003, 09:07 AM
On the digital 6 Ignition, to disable the spark you must ground the input wire that you are using to trigger the ignition. Since you are using the White wire then you will need to ground the White wire.

MSD Tech1