PDA

View Full Version : Shift light activation


68bird
07-10-2008, 09:14 AM
Is there any way to make the shift light work ALWAYS at a set RPM? Ie; when I'm driving around on the street for instance or if I footbrake launch the car. The dark blue wire is hooked to my trans brake, so thats the only way it currently works now is after a t-brake launch.

Thanks,
Craig

msdtech21
07-16-2008, 01:44 PM
Which box are we talking about? What wire are you using to activate the shift light?

Thanks,
MSDTECH21

68bird
07-17-2008, 09:52 AM
Oops, my bad. 7531 box. Using the YELLOW shift light wire.

Craig

msdtech21
08-20-2008, 10:40 AM
68bird,

Unfortunately not. The yellow wire will only activate when the dark blue wire is depressed (launch light) and the following gear changes until the box is in the last programmed gear (LastGr). The brown/white (RPMTIMESW) wire activates at the specified RPM regardless of gear or dark blue wire engagement.

Thanks,
MSDTECH21

Peter-hnr
01-09-2009, 05:11 PM
Hope i can get in a question in your thred
what i understand is the yellow and the brown/white in 7531sends out ground - ?

Is it so that everything that affects/in the box is + signals
and everythin that the box affects/out is - ?

/P

msdtech1955
01-12-2009, 12:30 PM
historically, all of our rpm activated switches ...have worked on a ground.

wether , it pulls to ground or visa versa.:001_smile:

procharged67
02-25-2010, 09:33 PM
ok so i installed my 7531 today and i got the car running..no shift light..hmmm

si i decited to come here and research..i changed the 1st gear shift to 2000k and the light will not work..

am i reading this correctly that the shift light will not work while im street driving?? this is a major problem for me..ill call tech in the morning.:thumbdown:

msdtech22
02-26-2010, 09:52 AM
In order for the shift light to work, you have to reset the ignition by applying the small dark blue wire to ground.

That tells the box that you are at the beginning of the run and sets the box to the zero position. Once the 12 volts is released from the dark blue wire, the ignition begins its cycle.

That unit really isn't a street freindly ignition. It is geared more for short duration racing.

procharged67
02-26-2010, 01:09 PM
ok..what if i set the 3rd gear shift limit at 6800. even if im driving the car on the street the light should always work at that rpm couse if the ignition box has not been reset it thinks im in 3rd gear still right?

msdtech22
02-26-2010, 02:10 PM
That would be correct.

msdtech21
03-02-2010, 10:49 AM
ok..what if i set the 3rd gear shift limit at 6800. even if im driving the car on the street the light should always work at that rpm couse if the ignition box has not been reset it thinks im in 3rd gear still right?

Thats not going to work. The Box will only illuminate the yellow wire through the programmed amount of gears and then the function will not start up again unless the dark blue wire is cycled to 12v. You should be able to use the brown and white wire to accomplish what your looking to do.

Thanks,